Wednesday, January 05, 2005

Seven Principles of Kwanzaa

There are seven fundamental spiritual principles in this religion: unity, faith, self-determination, collective work and responsibility, purpose, creativity and cooperative economics. With easy and open-minded translation you find the underlying spirituality of all major religions the same, because all peoples are fundamentally the same. Yes, there are variations in interpretation depending on the current economic, political and educational state of the people. And most peoples develop and depend on their faith, especially in times of crisis and struggle.

Unity or Oneness of all humanity recognizes we are all created in the likeness and image of our creator. While some might argue that their God holds them as special, most would agree that the singular Creative Power has created us all equally. Peoples simply choose to acknowledge, worship, conceptualize and honor that Power differently.

In our Unity we can respond to our commonality.
In our Unity, we can see our brother as ourselves.
In our Unity we can give to those in Sri Lanka or Indonesia as members of our global family.
In our Unity we can know that we have more in common than we have differences.
In our Unity we can experience compassion and loving kindness for everyone.
In our Unity we can share freely both ourselves and our resources to those in need.
In our Unity, we can feel the connection with all beings and extend our love to everyone..
In our Unity we can find the magnificence of God.

It is in Unity that we recognize we are not alone, for we are all one.

Loving us all as One,
Betty Lue