Tuesday, February 12, 2019

Loving Ways

I love with all my mind and heart.
I demonstrate love with the intention of my words.
I give time and trust and generosity and joy.
I live the Love I know within me and you and all.

Ways to Love

There are many languages of love.
When you love your beloved with your love language, they may not get the message.
When others love you with their love language, you may not get it.
When we all are for getting to love ourselves with our love language, you may not even know love.

Experimenting with loving is the key.
When you do not know how to love or feel loved, experiment.
When you do not know, try something new and observe what will work.
Never assume there is no way, because it will block the flow of love.

Love is a flow.
Love is a language.
Love is a gift.
Love is an experience.

When at first you don’t succeed, try, try again.
When you don’t know how to love, look, listen and learn.
When there is upset and anger, fear and judgment, love will be resisted.
When you quit on love, you will block your mind and heart from getting what is given.

Love is complex because it is defined in a variety of ways.
Some feel love as an emotion or chemistry.
Some hear love as words of affirmation and tone of voice.
Some see love as service, helpfulness and acts of kindness.

When we try to “get” love our way and “get” love their way, we miss their giving.
When we wish to hear loving words, but receive a gift, we may not hear it.
When we want some special time alone and get a rose instead, we may not feel the love.
Everyone receives love differently in their own unique way.

Try offering all five love languages and observe which one works the best.
1) Gifts or 2) quality time together?
3) Affection and touch o r4) acts of service?
5) Affirming and loving words?

For those who don’t combine love languages well….
Consider a special card and flowers with loving words written inside.
Take making your beloved their favorite meal or restaurant food with hugs and kisses too!
Try out listening and watching to see what they respond well too.
( And if you cannot figure it out ask directly or go online to do the assessment at 5lovelanguages.com)

The other tip is to notice what they do for you to show they love!
What you do for others is usually the way you want to be loved.
Gifts, Acts of Service, Affection and Touch, Affirming Words, and Quality Time.
See  LoveLanguages.com for assessment and more info.
Make sure you let them know what pleases you the most as well.

For some of us, having our love received is our greatest affirmation of love.
When we know our love works by teaching and touching we feel loved.
Love yourself and one another and I know I am Loved.
Smiling with unconditional Love for You!
Betty Lue

You can do your own assessment online at 5lovelanguages.com
What if you could say or do just the right thing guaranteed to make that special someone feel loved? The secret is learning the right love language! Millions of couples have learned the simple way to express their feelings and bring joy back into marriage: The 5 Love Languages, Dr. Gary Chapman’s New York Times bestseller!
Words of Affirmation Actions don’t always speak louder than words. If this is your love language, unsolicited compliments mean the world to you. Hearing the words, “I love you,” are important—hearing the reasons behind that love sends your spirits skyward. Insults can leave you shattered and are not easily forgotten.
Quality Time In the vernacular of Quality Time, nothing says, “I love you,” like full, undivided attention. Being there for this type of person is critical, but really being there—with the TV off, fork and knife down, and all chores and tasks on standby—makes your significant other feel truly special and loved. Distractions, postponed dates, or the failure to listen can be especially hurtful.
Receiving Gifts Don’t mistake this love language for materialism; the receiver of gifts thrives on the love, thoughtfulness, and effort behind the gift. If you speak this language, the perfect gift or gesture shows that you are known, you are cared for, and you are prized above whatever was sacrificed to bring the gift to you. A missed birthday, anniversary, or a hasty, thoughtless gift would be disastrous—so would the absence of everyday gestures.
Acts of Service Can vacuuming the floors really be an expression of love? Absolutely! Anything you do to ease the burden of responsibilities weighing on an “Acts of Service” person will speak volumes. The words he or she most want to hear: “Let me do that for you.” Laziness, broken commitments, and making more work for them tell speakers of this language their feelings don’t matter.
Physical Touch This language isn’t all about the bedroom. A person whose primary language is Physical Touch is, not surprisingly, very touchy. Hugs, pats on the back, holding hands, and thoughtful touches on the arm, shoulder, or face—they can all be ways to show excitement, concern, care, and love. Physical presence and accessibility are crucial, while neglect or abuse can be unforgivable and destructive.