Tuesday, June 12, 2012

Love Those Who Are Loving You

Love those who are loving you. 
Appreciate those who appreciate you.
Bless those who bless you.
Give to those who give to you.

Do you notice the ones who are loving you?
Do you receive the love you are given?
Do you acknowledge and affirm the Love that is yours?
Do you appreciate all the Love you have?

When we are not really loving ourselves, we forget to love others.
When we are not wholly loving ourselves, we neglect to give to others.
When we are not fully appreciating ourselves, we do not fully appreciate others.
When we are not giving the best to ourselves, we withhold freely giving to others.

When we measure what everyone gives, we usually judge, compare and criticize.
When we judge how much love is given, we will make up whose love is better or more.
When we believe that everyone should love and give the same way in the same amount, we are critical.
When we think we know they are withholding Love from us, it is because we are withholding love.

Let’s face it.
We are the cause and the cure.
We have the key to Love and Loving.
We can choose to change how much love freely flows in our world.

Love them all, everyone, including yourself.
Start with yourself.
Remove, forgive and erase, all the ways you don’t love you.
Let go of the habit of always putting others needs before your own.
(I know if I am complaining about not getting my needs met, it is because I have not met them.)

Look for acts of Love, and Kindness.
Ask yourself “How can I love myself more?”
Be willing to give love more freely.
Share your appreciation easily with others.

If you do not want to share audibly and obviously, simply acknowledge in your mind.
Say your prayers of gratitude daily.
Write thank you notes and make sure you say thanks when given something you value.
Be willing to do extras for the people in your life who are good for you and good to you.

Make sure you are taking advantage of time together to make a difference.
Make each conversation matter by ending with “Thank you” or “I Love you” or “You inspire me.”
Tell the people in your family how much they mean to you often.
And when you have a chance, let those who make a difference for you and for others how great they are.

You see, in the end, it is only our Love that makes a difference here.
Loving all of us as we remember to Love,
Betty Lue
5 Love Languages
What if you could say or do just the right thing guaranteed to make that special someone feel loved? The secret is learning the right love language! Millions of couples have learned the simple way to express their feelings and bring joy back into marriage: The 5 Love Languages, Dr. Gary Chapman’s New York Times bestseller!
Words of Affirmation Actions don’t always speak louder than words. If this is your love language, unsolicited compliments mean the world to you. Hearing the words, “I love you,” are important—hearing the reasons behind that love sends your spirits skyward. Insults can leave you shattered and are not easily forgotten.
Quality Time In the vernacular of Quality Time, nothing says, “I love you,” like full, undivided attention. Being there for this type of person is critical, but really being there—with the TV off, fork and knife down, and all chores and tasks on standby—makes your significant other feel truly special and loved. Distractions, postponed dates, or the failure to listen can be especially hurtful.
Receiving Gifts Don’t mistake this love language for materialism; the receiver of gifts thrives on the love, thoughtfulness, and effort behind the gift. If you speak this language, the perfect gift or gesture shows that you are known, you are cared for, and you are prized above whatever was sacrificed to bring the gift to you. A missed birthday, anniversary, or a hasty, thoughtless gift would be disastrous—so would the absence of everyday gestures.
Acts of Service Can vacuuming the floors really be an expression of love? Absolutely! Anything you do to ease the burden of responsibilities weighing on an “Acts of Service” person will speak volumes. The words he or she most want to hear: “Let me do that for you.” Laziness, broken commitments, and making more work for them tell speakers of this language their feelings don’t matter.
Physical Touch This language isn’t all about the bedroom. A person whose primary language is Physical Touch is, not surprisingly, very touchy. Hugs, pats on the back, holding hands, and thoughtful touches on the arm, shoulder, or face—they can all be ways to show excitement, concern, care, and love. Physical presence and accessibility are crucial, while neglect or abuse can be unforgivable and destructive.